Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What duty sidearm for the London police?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What duty sidearm for the London police?

Hello ladies and gentlemen.

I am a serving officer in London's Metropolitan Police. Yes, I appreciate that this is not the firearms forum. Nevertheless, since more people seem to operate on this forum, I thought I'd post the topic here.

We do have officers in the Met who carry firearms but, unfortunately, they amount to about 5% of the force. Here's the scenario. Tony Blair and his little helpers have a sudden change of heart and decide, forthwith to have all police officers armed. You're the procurements chief. We all have to carry the same pistol. It has to be 9mm. What are you getting us?

By the way, those officers who are authorised to carry guns, carry the Glock 17 and/or the H&K MP5. A few even get to brandish a H&K G36 from time to time.

Originally posted by banastretarlton
    You're the procurements chief. We all have to carry the same pistol. It has to be 9mm. What are you getting us?

Probably Glock 17 pistols with night sights for all of you.

For me, sitting in my office on my arse, I'm getting a Glock 19 as I'm fat, lazy and don't want to carry the extra 2 ounces of slide & frame.

Comment

I carry a Glock23. .40cal, but they do make a 9mm version. It's short barreled for quick drawing from the holster & easy to conceal so as not to intimidate the liberals. That's what I was issued. If I had my choice I'd go with an H&K. they seem more robust & I'm told a bit more accurate.

Comment

Originally posted by hemicop
        I carry a Glock23. .40cal, but they do make a 9mm version. It's short barreled for quick drawing from the holster & easy to conceal so as not to intimidate the liberals.
        Yeah...the glock 19.

That's what I have, but its cause I'm lazy and don't want that extra 12mm or length on the slide.