Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you wear clothing representing your dept.?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you wear clothing representing your dept.?

I got into a discussion with a 10 yr veteran of my PD. I was noticing that the Firemen constantly wear clothing that state the dept. they work for. His response was because they are not embarassed. When I first started working about 3 yrs ago, certain officers would wear clothing stating their PD, but it seemed it was in an arrogant manner. "Look at me I'm a cop" I mean they would wear it to bars. So I decided that I wouldn't wear that sort of clothing. Others I've talked to say, when they are off-duty they don't want anyone bothering them, which when clearified is what the 10 yr veteran meant when he said embarassed. What do you guys think? Do you wear your dept's logo off-duty? Why or why not?

[ 04-04-2003, 10:09 PM: Message edited by: Frank Booth ]

Comment

I fixed a transmission for a leo last year. When he brought the trans to me, he was in uniform, and there was no doubt what he was.

When he came to pick it up, it was almost like he was in disguise.

Comment

*shaking head* ohhhhhhhh, Frank.

As far as the question, not just no but HELL NO!!! I don't wear anything out in public that identifies me as an LEO. Even when I'm on my way from work and have to make a stop I take off my badge and gun and if there is any chance at all I'm gonna make any stops, I won't even wear my agency's polo shirts that day.

Comment

Hey Fla, glad you aren't one of Franks "boys".

Comment

I have to agree...NO WAY. Even if I am in my home car I don't unless I respond to a call that needs a home care to go to. And if I do that I will put a hat on.
            Firemen do it cause everyone LOVES a fireman but #$%% on a cop.

That Guy