300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting the best of an overbearing cop

No, I'm not a troll looking to do some cop-bashing. A friend of mine just relayed a funny story to me that I thought I'd share.

Here in WI, the law states that you have to have a plate on both the front and back of your vehicle (with only a few exceptions). But many people don't bother putting on their front plate.

Now, as a cop, I will use this as probable cause to pull someone over because you never know what else you might find (especially at 2:00 a.m. on Friday night). At worst, I might give someone a written warning to have the front plate on within 5 days. I've never actually fined someone for the violation.

My friend was pulled over the other day because she didn't have the front plate on her new Subaru. The state trooper that pulled her over (they can be somewhat, ah, rigid, in their enforcement of motor vehicle laws) came to her car and the dialog went something like this:

TROOPER: The reason I pulled you over is that you don't have your front license plate attached.

FRIEND: I know, officer. I just bought the car and I can't figure out how the plate attatches to the front. There's a license plate holder but the holes don't line up.

T: I understand, ma'am. However, state law dictates that, if you're going to be driving the vehicle on the roadway, you must have the front plate attatched. I'll be issuing you a fine in the amount of $X.XX for the violation.

F: I tell you what, officer. Here's the plate. If you can show me how to attatch it to the front of my car, I'll not only pay the fine without a fight, but I'll donate twice the fine amount to the police charity of your choice.

She hands him the plate and they both walk to the front of her car.

20 minutes later, the trooper told her to drive safely...and to have her dealer replace the plate holder with one that actually fit our plates. Needless to say, she was not fined for the violation.