300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low Pay?

I feel that this post is going to be just a way for me to vent.

As citizens, you always here about how Police Officer's receive low pay for the type and amount of work that they do.

As a Police Officer, I never really thought about the pay, until recently.

The city for which I work for, gave raises to all employees, including Fire employees. Somehow, they managed to skip the Police Department.

Our Union Prez, addressed the city coucil and mayor, only to be turned away. Reason given...no money in the budget. The city council asked for our union to hire a firm to conduct a study on pay in our state with various agencies of similar size.

Their conclusion, our department was the second lowest paid in the state. Since their report from a month ago, we are now the lowest paid agency in the state for our size. The firm reported that our agency is now 18% behind the state average.

On top of all this great news, it was discovered that our city had a surplus budget of 13.1 million from the previous year, yet they claim that they have no money.

Hears the best part. This past week, our city council voted itself a pay raise. They decided to give themselves a $650 a month raise.

Ok, I'm better now, not. At any rate, I'm not looking for sympathy. I just wanted everyone to know exactly how bad the pay can be. Oh, and a side note. Our agency starts out at 18k a year.

Don't get me wrong, I love my job and understood what the pay was when I joined three years ago. But boy, it sure does make my job a little harder knowing how much our elected officials care about us.
    Attitude is a reflection of leadership.

You all are risking your lives. You should have gotten a pay raise. What do these council members do?! Sit at desks all day.
    It's not fair.
    FREE Website Development for Law Enforcement
    <a href="http://police-websites.org" target="_blank">http://police-websites.org</a>

Comment