300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Little We Know

I was doing some research and uncovered this sent to me by one of our Brothers in a green LEO uniform... Germany, that is. It struck a nerve and I thought I would foward it on to you guys and see what you thought about his input and the generation coming behind us... older guys anyway.

I have been out of the Forum for some time now and I hope to be back regularily in the near future. I miss the conversations thrown around amonst us...

Subject: From a military doctor, what little we know...

I am a doctor specializing in Emergency Medicine in the Emergency Departments of the only two military Level One-trauma centers. They are both in San Antonio, TX and they care for civilian emergencies as well as
    military personnel. San Antonio has the largest military retiree population in the world living here, because of the location of these two large military medical centers.

As a military doctor in training for my specialty, I work long hours and the pay is less than glamorous. One tends to become jaded by the long hours, lack of sleep, food, family contact and the endless parade of human suffering passing before you. The arrival of another ambulance does not mean
    more pay, only more work. Most often, it is a victim from a motor vehicle crash. Often it is a person of dubious character who has been shot or stabbed. With our large military retiree population, it is often a nursing home patient. Even with my enlisted service and minimal combat experience in
    Panama, prior to medical school, I have caught myself groaning when the ambulance brought in yet another sick, elderly person from one of the local retirement centers that cater to military retirees.