300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airline Security and Badge/Shield... you won't believe this.. lol

I found this to be a lil extreme, but in light of recent events, I guess it somewhat makes sense.

I am a commissioned peace officer, who works two jobs (suprised?, doubt it.. lol). My second job (unrelated to LE) requires me to travel, quite a bit, mostly by plane.

In light of recent events, esp. the instance where a retired Armed Forces General was not allowed to board a plane due to his valor medal being considered a "knife like object", I decided to call the airline.

I informed them that I was a commissioned peace officer, and was going to be traveling later this week on their airline. I asked them if my metal clasp on the back of my shield would be considered a "knife like object" and thus "cause trouble".

I received an interesting reply. Though they said it wasn't an immediate disqualification, it was a good possibility that it could be forbidden.

Great. I thought by leaving my firearm at home (and thus going naked) would be enough to eliminate the hassle that these new security provisions have imposed.

Though to me it would be assanine to not allow anyone with a shield as part of their official issued identification to possess it while on an airplane - sanity often doesn't prevail in our society.

So I'm tasked with the choice of packing my identification in my checked baggage (with the thought of it being lost or stolen), or just leaving it at home - period - with no simple way of identifying myself to LE if the SHTF while on job #2.

Your recommendations/suggestions/experiences since 9/11?

Terry

I would see if you could leave it with stewardist or pilots. tell them you have to carry it and ask if they can hold it.

Comment