300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fiction fact-check help

hello. i'm primarily a fiction writer and would like to ask a fact-check type of question. i was wondering if an officer had any quibbles about the likelihood of the following happening, though this did happen to our family when i was growing up: our family dog got hit by a car, and a policeman put the dog down for us by shooting her. however, a number of hours later, when we went out to the back to take her collar off and bury her, she was still alive. if anyone has any thoughts about this, from the police officer's point of view, i'd appreciate any help or any details that might make the retelling of this story more vivid. for instance, would you have to file a report? would your fingers smell like anything from shooting the pistol? ANY information you gave me would be helpful--including other resources and books i might find in order to understand the life of a police officer more fully. most of all, i want to be as truthful and detail-rich as possible. thank you very much for your time and thoughts. take good care, sickan

[ 03-30-2002: Message edited by: sickan ]

Wouldn't put the animal down, not my job... wouldn't even consider using my pistol as I would be looking at days off if I shot a dog in the city...

Just kiss it off to animal control, they get paid to play with pets...

I'm 10-8...

[ 03-30-2002: Message edited by: occiferdave ]

Comment

It's not uncommon for me to find animals that have been struck by cars during the course of my duties. I work in a rural area and car vs. deer calls aren't all that unusual. Because of this we are allowed to put animals down at our discretion, if we feel like they are suffering.

I dont really like doing it, but I wont let an animal suffer either. When I do put an animal down I have to contact my superviosr and request permission, to date that permission has never been denied.