Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incident/Crime Type Management

Hello,

I'm a software developer with a company that is developing a records managements system (RMS) for police agencies. We're currently in the middle of gathering requirements for handling crime types, attaching them to incidents and correlating them to UCR reporting.

Does anyone know of any resources (esp. people, but also could be documentation) who I could look up and ask some requirements questions that have tended to be difficult to answer? I already have access to FBI documentation on UCR reporting, but we esp. need info on how incidents are reported in various states and how incident/crime types are correlated to UCR codes in those cases.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Regards,
    Steve
    Steve Magruder

Steve,

God Bless you for trying!

Keeping good, objective stats is a challenge because you have so many different systems in place. It would be great if someone came out with some software that wrapped up all the loose ends!

I've had to do research before on the incidence of certain crimes across geographical areas and over time. The problem comes in to this:

1. calls recieved

How do you keep track of multiple calls on the same incident? How do you classify the nature of the call? One person calls in suspcious noises, another shots fired, and another calls in a fight in progress- all to the same address.

Or five people call in a Domestic Disturbance but when officers get there, they find out it's a disturbance between a landlord and a tennant. How do you consolidate this with the calls received and link it to the offense report and arrest report?

2. reports taken

Often, reports are not taken. So how do you keep track of minor incidents where an officer did not take a report?

If a report IS taken, offiecrs may file it as a "Theft", when it is actually a "Burglary".

3. cases cleared by arrest