300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "COPS" For real or not really

I love to watch to "COPS" the tv show. I'm not an officer, I'm a mechanic. I am wondering if being an officer is much like the show. I know that when I watch mechanic type shows they seem embellished and are not typical of an 8-5 job. So is "COPS" the same? Any LE fans out there? Please only respond if you are LEO. Thanks

**Not a cop**

Cops shows about 1% of law enforcement. There are not chases every day (Be it vehicle, or foot). You do not go lights and siren to every call.

This is how COPS works. They come to your PD for about a month (Give or take a few weeks). They have camera guys riding with officers for the time they are there. They get about 30 mins, to an hour, of good film they will use, for every month of filming.
    U.S. Coast Guard R since 2006.
    Petty Officer Third Class (E-4)

Comment

Is your family LE? Just wondering how a 16 yo knows so much about the PD. When I was 16, well nevermind. Anyways thanks for info.

Comment

Originally posted by acuratech311
        Is your family LE? Just wondering how a 16 yo knows so much about the PD. When I was 16, well nevermind. Anyways thanks for info.
        Im a cadet with the police department.

I have over 500 hours of ride-alongs.

What do you mean "When I was 16, Well nevermind" ?

Comment

OH thats awesome bro, I wish I could've done that when I was that age. Dont get all excited I was just curious cuz when I was 16 I surely wasnt thinking about enforcing the law. I was trying to avoid the law...... Good for you bud.

Comment

It's an entirely different setting than a mechanic show. Alot of the mechanic shows on TV seem to be reading off scripts or something to overdramatize the situation. I don't think you could make up the stuff on COPS, although it's odd how many people don't mind their face being on TV.

Comment

Originally posted by TPD Cadet
              **Not a cop**