Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Marriage and Law Enforcement = Oil + Water??

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marriage and Law Enforcement = Oil + Water??

First, I'm not married, but I am a police officer. All throughout the academy, it seemed like every instructor that we had (all LEO's) was either divorced or into his second or third marriage. I know this occupation is stressful and if you aren't in it, you don't really understand what goes on. But is it THAT difficult to maintain a stable marriage and a successful LE career? Another thing I notice is the amount of infedelity that I see throughout this profession, I know there are lots of people in other professions that cheat, but it seems like it's the "norm" in police work. I had one male officer tell me "you know how it is" in other words, don't be surprised about what I see, every officer does it. Just wondering how you guys feel about this. And please don't be offended if I stepped on a toe or two

[ 08-16-2001: Message edited by: Summer Rain ]

I don't know about it being the "norm", but I agree that the percentage of infidelity and divorce is much higher in the law enforcement profession. I think that it's because of the type of person drawn to law enforcement. As a general rule, we're "adrenaline junkies" who thrive on action, and get bored quickly. Plus, we're used to solving conflicts in 30 minutes or less with a report or an arrest . . . bam, move on to the next call. When our relationships start to leave the "honeymoon phase" and slow down, we look for something to spice it up, which for some, I would guess, involves an affair. When WE begin having arguments and fights, we discover that they cannot be solved with the stroke of a pen, it's frustrating and just adds to the problem.
    Payday is even sweeter when you know you've earned it

Comment