300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Degree Advice

So, my CDCs are FINALLY done and the new terms are starting for the distance education courses the base offers. I was going to finish my Criminal Justice degree, but my flight commander gave me some advice about going for a technical degree so I'd have something to fall back on if I get hurt on the job when I go to civillian LE after my Air Force time. So, I'm going to open this up to the floor. Any ideas? I'm a bit of a tech head anyway and have a talent for circutry and chemistry...
    "The world isn't as it should be. It's harsh. And it's cruel. That's why there's us. Champions. We live as if the world were as it should be, to show it what it can be."-Angel Season 4

There's never a lack of jobs for engineers...

Try electrical or chemical engineering, if that floats your boat.
    *Not a cop*

Comment

Get your Criminal Justice degree, you'd be stupid not too. You're probably half way there already and all the courses you need to finish your CCAF are needed for a Bachelor's anyhow. If you try and start on a new degree right now, you wasted all the credits from tech school. I knocked out my CCAF in CJ and am now working on a Bachelor's in Computer Science. Or do like a friend of mine did, start working on another Associates and leave 1 class till the end that will finish both of them.

Also, start taking CLEPs as much as possible. They are free to you, take advantage of it while you can. I have around 25 credits just from CLEPs. I suggest taking: speech, English (6 credits), Ethics, Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement, and intro to management. I know there are a few other easy ones, but those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. Worse case, you waste an hour of your time and can't CLEP it again for 6 months. But if you pass, you get the credits and are that much closer to your degree.