300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toys R Us- SO MAD (rant)

I'm an avid World Rally Championship fan, and a new game was just released that lets me pretend I'm a World Rally driver.

So I go to Toys R Us to see if they have this game in (not my first choice for games, but sometimes they have cool stuff).

I'm carrying a SMALL Kelty Day Pack (I call it my man purse, I carry it when I'm wearing summer clothes so I don't have to carry so much crap in my pockets). It's slung across my chest and hangs behind my back. My buddy and I get twenty steps inside when the manager nervously calls out, "Ummm guys? You need to leave that pack here, I'll watch it for you."

A lot of stores have that policy, which is OK. But it's only OK if they make EVERYBODY do it. I think of a million things I want to say to the guy, but I just hand it to him, and walk away.

Inside, I see many women (various ages) all carrying purses, many of them much larger than my "man purse". There are also men with fanny packs not much smaller than my pack. So now I'm really angry, because they selectively enforce the rule. I know, I know, they're a private business, but seriously....

When I was 14, I expected that kind of crap. I'm 24 freaking years old! I graduated the Police Academy last year! I'm interviewing (executive interview, wish me luck!) with my local PD this Friday! He doesn't know all that (except he can guess my age), but it's still not acceptable. Should he be able to pick out a 24 year old black guy and make him give up his pack instead of me (I'm white)? No. So on the same principle, some 40 year old woman shouldn't get to keep her backpack sized purse while I give up my little pack.