Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need some feedback on weapons carrying options.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need some feedback on weapons carrying options.

I need some feedback from those in the profession, either police or probation, or any branch of law enforcement, on officer safety issues in regards to carrying a firearm concealed or in the open.

A little background. I am a weapons carrying probation officer. As part of our firearms procedure, we must wear a full duty belt, with OC spray, baton, handcuffs, pistol, magazine cases, radio, etc, in addition to body armor, if we elect to carry a firearm. On top of that, our policy then requires us to conceal our weapon (dont ask me why), with either a shirt or jacket over the duty belt and badge.

I am trying to get the administration to change their position on carrying concealed, and so I need some professionals' feedback on the pros and cons of carrying concealed. I also have to argue both sides of the issue come up with pros and cons of carrying in the open as well.

Any help would be appreciated, or if you need me to clarify anything, please let me know. Thanks.

Let me get this straight ( cover your badge and gun with your Shirt or Jacket ). That is retarded who comes up with such stupid policies? Here in Georgia , Probation Officers are Law Enforcement Officers and have full arrest powers and they do not have to hide anything. Good luck I hope you suceed !
    STAND FOR SOMETHING OR FALL FOR ANYTHING .

Comment

i thought that arizona had open carry laws. even for civis.

Comment

Originally posted by gotthblues
        i thought that arizona had open carry laws. even for civis.

I thought so too...

You'll have perform some research to fully qualify what you want to do, why and what is "normal" practice for similar agencies...