300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving Violation

I have been driving for many years with a very good record, receiving few violations over the years, with a current point rating of zero.

The other day I made a poor judgment maneuver, cutting off a truck to make a right turn. The officer pulled me over and gave me a justified piece of his mind. I then politely explained how stupid I was and normally drive very safe.

I wasn

He can't assess violation points against you, only the DMV can after being found guilty in a court of law, so he lied to you about that. Secondly, by taking something that he had no right to take (the PBA card), he's committed a felony, at least in NY (Grand Larceny 4, stealing off of a person). Contact his department's civilian complaint board to get the card back.

Comment

Originally posted by FJM-Bladerunner
      He told me that "I was not going to get a ticket, but he would put 5 points on my license and he was keeping the card". I wasn't sure how he could add points to my license when no paper work passed hands and without me signing off being guilty of the crime. (Guilty or Not ?)

My friends and family seem to think that the officer let my off, but wanted me to remember the favor by causing me a bit of distress and the lose of a few nights sleep. What do you think?
      This sounds a bit like the "I'm going to let you go this time, but if I catch you driving like that again in the next six months I'm going to give you ticket for everything that happened tonight PLUS whatever you did that night." that I got. Sounds like you're friends and family are right.

Comment

Originally posted by SWH
        he's committed a felony, at least in NY (Grand Larceny 4, stealing off of a person). Contact his department's civilian complaint board to get the card back.