Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reserve Officers

Hello All.

I am a LE student At Fox Valley Tech in Appleton WI. I am wondering if you can help me out with a paper I am researching. It is on Reserve/Auxiliary Officers. If you would answer the following questions I'd appreciate it.

1. Do you have any reserve officers on your department?
    2. Why or why not?
    3. What are your OPINIONS on Reserve officers?

Any experiences both good or bad would be ok as well.

Thanks in advance

Joel Campbell

Originally posted by mapd143
    Hello All.

I am a LE student At Fox Valley Tech in Appleton WI. I am wondering if you can help me out with a paper I am researching. It is on Reserve/Auxiliary Officers. If you would answer the following questions I'd appreciate it.

1. Do you have any reserve officers on your department?
    2. Why or why not?
    3. What are your OPINIONS on Reserve officers?

Any experiences both good or bad would be ok as well.

Thanks in advance

Joel Campbell
    FORMER OFFICER
    1 yes
    2 for support,,to work parades, security where officers can not be spared, to ride with officers, when shift is unusually short handed, two man unit better than one man unit
    3 some good, some bad- resrv who want to work and are squared away, good
    resrv who only want to carry a badge, never show up for assignments or to ride with officers,,,,BAAAAD
    Last edited by gotthblues; 09-08-2005, 06:00 PM.

Comment

Have been a reserve officer for 26+ years. Started on patrol with local sheriff's office, transfered to local PD, now assigned to CID, work the pawn shop detail. We have about 5 reserve officers now, most are officers who have resigned to get higher paying jobs, and want to keep their foot in the door.

Like most things it depends on the individual, whether they understand their role, how committed they are to training and doing the job to the best of their ability.

Hope this helps.

Comment