300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Academy Preperations

I'm trying to find what has worked for you guys as far as getting through the academy. I plan on starting the academy in January, and am expecting to complete physical agility tests in late October. I've been working for the past four years in EMS, along with a stint in part time corrections for about two years, and I have fallen victim to the EMS physique. I am currently 5'11'' and weigh in at about 205lbs. Over the past month and a half, I've adjusted my diet, eating more chicken and other healthier options, and have cut my intake drastically. I originally weighed in at 245lbs. I've been doing the usual Push-Ups, Sit-Ups, and running. Push-up's and sit-ups, I've been doing my maxiumum number of repititions in one minute, and doing two more sets of them, about every other day. I'm having some difficulty with the running. Some of it is motivation, some is time. I find myself trying to run three times a week, but I never have been a big runner. I would guess that my running style is probably some of my problems. Any input on training for the running, or any other physical aspects of the academy? Any input qould be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Get up early and do your running before work. This way you won't be able to make the zillion excuses that one can make after work for not hitting the pavement. It works for me anyway.
    "Respect for religion must be reestablished. Public debt should be reduced. The arrogance of public officials must be curtailed. Assistance to foreign lands must be stopped or we shall bankrupt ourselves. The people should be forced to work and not depend on government for subsistence." - Cicero, 60 B.C.

For California police academy notes go to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CABasicPolice/

Comment