300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 14 Valedictorians?!?

Two weeks ago my nephew graduated with high honors from the same high school I did in '86. According to my mother, there were 14 valedictorians and no salutatorian. When I graduated there were one of each: they were the 1st and 2nd ranked graduate respectively. She explained that my lovely high school decided that everyone with a 4.0 GPA or higher was named valedictorian so that no one would be slighted. My nephew missed out on the valedictorian club by 1/10th of a GPA point.

Mom and I thought this was total BS, but the Hawaii public school system is one of those "feel good, regardless of result" kinds of school systems. We both thought it cheapens the honor.

What say you fellow forum members?

[ 06-16-2003, 11:52 PM: Message edited by: Padres19 ]
    "A man's got to know his limitations" --Inspector Harry Callahan in Magnum Force

I could understand if they were calling people with a C+ average valedictorians, but a 4.0 isn't easy to achieve, and why shouldn't those who achieve it be honored in such a way? Why (and how) would you pick one person out of that 14 and say his or her 4.0 was a greater achievement than this persons?

Comment

quote:
      Originally posted by CiaJ:
      I could understand if they were calling people with a C+ average valedictorians, but a 4.0 isn't easy to achieve, and why shouldn't those who achieve it be honored in such a way? Why (and how) would you pick one person out of that 14 and say his or her 4.0 was a greater achievement than this persons?

Totally agree that anything at or above 4.0 has to be recognized. A solution is not easy and I admit any answer I give would have a flaw or two, but there has to be a tie-breaker, just like there is in the real world.

It just bugs me when we cheapen awards to not hurt feelings, not to mention abuse the English language.