300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calling all Mechanics

Ok...well the other day I thought I was going in to get the tires on my car rotated but the guy came out and told me that the front struts were leaking on my car.

He gave me a quote of $320, but what I want to know is if this is a big deal and if I need to get it fixed right now or can I wait a little bit? I'm a starving college student/single mom I don't have time for my car to cause problems.
    Dance like no one's watching -- Sing like no one's listening, and work like you don't need the money.

Take it to someplace like MIDAS, etc....that SPECIALIZES in shocks/struts for an analysis and estimate. I put new struts on a Mustang 2 years ago. Cost was around $300. Struts SHOULD 'last' around $75K miles.YMMV depending on driving/road conditions.

Struts not only have an impact(pun intended [Wink] ) on ride COMFORT, but also affect handling, tire wear and braking.
    "When you guys get home and face an anti-war protester, look him in the eyes and shake his hand. Then, wink at his girlfriend, because she knows she's dating a *****."
    -Commanding General, 1st Marine Division

Comment

Everybody has a friend that's a shade tree mechanic. If you have a friend that is even remotely mechanically inclinded, you can do them yourself for less than $100. You can probably do all four for about $100 depending on what kind of car you have. Auto Zone or similar will loan you the spring compressor when you buy the struts from them. Shell out the extra $25 for the Hanyes manual for your vehicle and it will walk you right through it. Most big libraries have a full set of Haynes or Chilton's manuals for just about every vehicle. Shocks are a no brainer.Struts are tougher but can be done yourself too with a little pre-education and patience.