X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ride Alongs

Does your Department do them?

What are your feelings about them?

What protection do you give the Civilian?

Matthew

Originally posted by dc francis
    Does your Department do them?

What are your feelings about them?

What protection do you give the Civilian?

Matthew

1. Yes, we do

2. Fine if I know the person. And if they act up we take a quick trip back to the station to drop them off.

3. A quick lesson on cover: "Get the hell on the floorboard!"
    "Patrolling the Idiocracy"

Comment

I have done two (both w/ St. Paul PD) The officers were nice and seemed cool with having me along. And I went EVERYWHERE they went, and im sure if need be they would have protected me the same way they protect any innocent civilian.

Comment

Yes, we do them.
        As a Reserve Officer I get to get into the **** the FT members get into. Doing ride-a-longs as a civi was fun. DON'T EVER LEAVE THE CAR!!!
        Protection?? HAHAHAHAHA They had us sign a waiver stating the PD was not responsible for anything that happened to you if you rode. No bullet proof vests, OC or carrying a gun either.

Comment

We do ride-alongs here, Ive been on about 40.

Rules...
          -No guns or any weapons (Duh!)
          -We can get out on all calls, unless we don't want to, or unless the officer says no.
          -We just got radios, so after I pass the radio compentency test I will beable to cary/use a radio while going on a ride-along.
          -We are allowed to wear bulletproof vests, but PD does not supply.
          -And the officers make us do alot of paperwork.

But that is from the point of view from a cadet/explorer, I have never done a ride-along as a civi.
          U.S. Coast Guard R since 2006.
          Petty Officer Third Class (E-4)

Comment

Originally posted by ARcop
            Yes, we do them.