300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Injury on Duty

Hi, I am a Police Officer in the UK. Last August(2004) whilst arresting a male I received two prolapsed discs in the base of my back and a hernia. I was off work for some time whilst awaiting treatment. My force then put me on half pay resulting in financial hardship for my family, my wife is also a cop.
    Although the job was paying for my treatment and my occupational health unit had advised that I should remain on full pay, the powers that be, said no he goes on half pay.
    I have returned back to work even though still receiving treatment and in constant pain, but needs must, and I am trying to play catch up with missed payments whilst I was on half my normal pay. I cannot drive and cannot work on frontline duties again. My Federation (union) were suprised to find I was placed on half pay. but they tried and failed to overturn the ruling.

Does anyone else have any bad experiences like this??

I am a third generation police officer with an outstanding record. I was proud of my work, but it has made me feel very different now.
    Last edited by jmc; 08-05-2005, 03:54 PM.

Originally posted by jmc
    Hi, I am a Police Officer in the UK. Last August(2004) whilst arresting a male I received two prolapsed discs in the base of my back and a hernia. I was off work for some time whilst awaiting treatment. My force then put me on half pay resulting in financial hardship for my family, my wife is also a cop.
    Although the job was paying for my treatment and my occupational health unit had advised that I should remain on full pay, the powers that be, said no he goes on half pay.