300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Much Respect

Well, there I am going to a detail. I was told in the academy, "don't do details...that's not what this job is about." blah blah blah. Screw them. They put us in the poor house for 6 months, now it's time to get paid. Nuff said.

I get to the site, and it's a paving job on a state highway. Now, the last 2 days have been the hottest of the year, reaching upper 90s and humid as f*ck.

Here are these guys, laying it down, smoothing it out, moving cones around, etc, and people of course do not slow down. I do my best to keep traffic controlled, but I couldn't stop thinking, man, that must be the toughest job in the world.

Props to hard working joes out there.
    Whitechapel - Hate Creation

When I was a rookie, I was told by an old-timer;

"We don't get paid for what we do, we get paid for what we might have to do".
    Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment

I have to say, after working a couple of blue collar jobs, I very much respect the blue collar workers of this country.
      Hail hail the gang's all here, when the going gets tough I know my friends will still be there. - Drop Kick Murphys, "The Gang's all Here"

Comment

Originally posted by Welpe
        I have to say, after working a couple of blue collar jobs, I very much respect the blue collar workers of this country.

I agree. When I was in college I worked as a shift manager at Taco Bell. That was some pretty tough work. I used to think that fast food workers suck, now I think differently.
        This country (IMHO) was founded and built by the blue collar. Sadly many of the white collars have forgotten this and still look down on them.

TGY