300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Street Talk

Does anyone know what departments in CA are going back to plain English instead of the 10 and 11 codes? This may be just a rumor, but Ive heard it from a few different people.

*My opinion and knowledge only*

In Canada you always have a choice about whether you use the 10 codes or not. In the restricted radio operators course they tell you that you always have the option to have something told to you in plain english instead of the 10 code.

Personally I prefer 10 codes as they sound "cooler" and the regular non-radio-following-person can't understand.

--Keep in mind, I am just a Paramedic.

Comment

Not answering the question, because I don't know about Cali, but when ****'s hitting the fan, plain english is the way to go. 10 codes are good for when the rat is standing beside you and you're running his name. When they come back with info "he's 10-63" (wanted on a warrant) he usually doesn't know what that means and doesn't bolt.
      "Support Our Troops"

Comment

We have the option, but generally in non-emergency situations most choose to use the 10 codes. I can't speak for any other agencies.
        "The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, can not and will not ever harm the sheep." -Lt. Col. Dave Grossman

Comment

The 10 codes become ineffective though when you deal with the same scanner listening ****heads all the time. I don't know how many I've had come back with warrants (10-99) and without mention of the word "Warrant" I hear "That's bull****, I dont' have no warrant!"

The codes do go pretty much out the window during ****storms though. I don't even know the code for pursuit, or an armed subject, or even send backup for that matter. They're never used, in my county anyway.