300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PPCT or Monadnock?

As a DT instructor I am curious to what type of DT is taught/reinforced within your department. How do you feel about the Defensive Tactics techniques you are trained to use? (I won't say which I prescribe to until a few posts)
    Last edited by 72na55; 07-17-2005, 07:27 PM. Reason: why

In my department we use PPCT. In the few occasions that I have used it I had no problems. I am more comfortable with the USD tactics I learned as an MP in the Army because they are simple and effective (and I am much more familiar with them).

I am also certified by Monadnock on the PR-24 and MEB. I enjoyed the control techniques taught in the PR-24 course, but I haven't run across a single department that carries it. I was certified when I was an MP and the Army was field testing it.
    No man is justified in doing evil on the grounds of expediency. - Theodore Roosevelt, The Strenuous Life: Essays and Addresses (1900)

Comment

Our DT is really lacking. The OC and ASP classes are decent enough, but most of our DT seems to be geared toward officers who are old or overweight. It basically involves a lot of commands, with a list of things not to do (chokes, etc). Most of our DT basically assumes the bad guy will obey your commands so you don't have to get control of him.

Needless to say, I rely on training I've got elsewhere....

Comment

Mine was taught mostly by LAPD SWAT so I got a lot of Judo and some boxing and a whole lot of Cartoid restraint. I had a great time. We were also taught the ASP, side handle and straight baton. I liked the straight the best out of the three.
        "Respect for religion must be reestablished. Public debt should be reduced. The arrogance of public officials must be curtailed. Assistance to foreign lands must be stopped or we shall bankrupt ourselves. The people should be forced to work and not depend on government for subsistence." - Cicero, 60 B.C.