Hagerstown Maryland????

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hagerstown Maryland????

I'm a Police Officer in the Pittsburgh area. Recently Hagerstown, MD posted an ad in the local paper here for police officers. I have seen this ad before, every year and sometimes twice a year. My question is, why?

I am thinking of applying but am concerned about what appears to be a hugh turn-over rate, considering how often the ad is ran. Does anybody here know if there are problems with or within the department? Is it a really bad area? Something seems to be forcing this ad. I have a wife and kids, so I'm a little leary about getting stuck in a bad situation. If I was single I probably wouldn't care as much, but I have too much riding on my paycheck now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hagerstown? Isn't that near Buckeystown? The boonies??

Comment

Originally posted by toni_tk
      Hagerstown? Isn't that near Buckeystown? The boonies??
      Nonononononoooo Toni. A good ways away from Buckeystown, out in Washington County.

Hagerstown has issues. Fixed shifts, fixed days off, and low starting salary (about 33 or so). The good news is they get great raises the first 4 or 5 years, topping out at something like 45....but then they basically sit there.

Being from Pittsburg, you'd have to do Maryland Comparative compliance, about 6 weeks or so.

Not a bad town to work for, if you like smaller sized (about 100 or so) departments.

Retirement is 25 years, I think.
      Best Regards,
      Zebra 305
      "Shots fired, shots fired..get me some goddam cars up here now!"
      Typical Henry Sector PG County radio traffic, circa 1996.

Comment