Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I didn't make too good of grades in high school...

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I didn't make too good of grades in high school...

I am getting ready to turn in my applicaton to the police department in the town where I live to try to get a position as a part-time police officer. I already spoke with the chief of police about me wanting this job.

I also told him that I never went to college and don't have any degree.
    He told me that, that wouldn't be a problem. (The chief himself never even graduated from high school and he got hired 2 years ago.)He said if I want I could take some evening courses in criminal justice.

He acted like he was more concerned about me passing the POWER test rather than my past education.

My point here is that on the application it wants to see your high school transcript. I graduated from high school about 15 years ago and at that time I didn't apply myself to make good grades. Some classes I did good in though and some not so good.

When they look at my transcript do you think this will affect the decision made on if they will hire me or not??
    I would hate for my poor grades in high school to affect me getting the job of my dreams.. I really want this job and I KNOW I can do it. I am older now and more mature.
    Please tell me what you think??? Also just curious about the kind of grades you all made in high school and if your grades were mentioned at your interviews.

Thanks so much!!

I screwd off a lot in High School, and though I didn't flunk anything, my grades were pretty poor. I did go on to school afterwards, and while I wasn't a honor student, I did OK. And yes, my grades were mentioned. Luckily, the passing of time made them less relevant. Aren't there any educational requirements in your state? In Wisconsin, you need to haver at least 60 college credits to get and maintain your certification.