300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Officer Next Door Program

Anybody have any experience with this HUD program? I'm a NJ officer looking into it and could use any useful information. Thanks.

They offered it here. Hardly anybody did it because no officer at the income level there was wanted to live in the 'hood.
    Those that did it regretted it later and moved on.

Comment

Go to the local HUD office and get their listing. Bring your service pistol with you and your service rifle while your at it and drive around the places they have those houses. Usually, but not always, they are in an area that would be fun to patrol.
      "Respect for religion must be reestablished. Public debt should be reduced. The arrogance of public officials must be curtailed. Assistance to foreign lands must be stopped or we shall bankrupt ourselves. The people should be forced to work and not depend on government for subsistence." - Cicero, 60 B.C.

For California police academy notes go to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CABasicPolice/

Comment

For some reason they only pick places near the projects.. they stopped that program several years ago here in Miami Dade because people would buy houses and RENT them out.. I don't think they understood the point of that program..

Comment

COP in the HOOD program

I was in San Diego when they started there program. I had a few friends buy homes/condos and they all made pretty good money on their investment. ( I moved b-4 I could get in) Not sure how your system works but here they would post a new list on their web page and you could view the properties b-4 putting in your bid. It was luck of the draw if more than one officer put in for the same house.

Pros: -Homes were being offered to officers at half the market value for a promise of a three year stay.
          -Closing costs were only about 2 grand on any home, money was refundable if you didn't get the home.