300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lawyer Bashing

I usually avoid lawyer bashing but I'm ticked off.

I have been involved in a law suit against my department for over two years. At various stages, the lawyers involved have said that my case was strong and that I had gathered far more evidence than is typical in this kind of case.

Although I don't practice law, I am a licensed attorney. My personal opinion is that my case is strong and that I have sufficient evidence to prevail. I've read a good deal of case law relating to this issue and the vast amount seems to support my position.

Several laymen friends are familiar with my case. They are generally shocked and appalled by some of the things that my department (under the previous administration) has done. All of the laymen who are familiar with my case feel that it is a "slam-dunk" case.

A few weeks ago, my attorney asked for more money. I promptly paid. The check was cashed.

Yesterday, I spoke with one of the partners at the law firm on the telephone. He said that I don't have a case and that his firm wants to withdraw from the case. He raised several possible areas of weakness in the case. When I provided answers and pointed out relevant evidence, he became evasive.

At times, this case has involved numerous potential plaintiffs. My feeling is that this litigation has become more expensive and time consuming than the lawyer had ever anticipated. My belief is that they want to take any way out that they possibly can even if this would hurt their clients (including me).

Frankly, I'm very angry about the entire thing. My opinion is that the lawyers involved are incompetent and completely lacking in ethics. I can't believe that it would take them over two years to decide that I don't have a case, that they would ask for more money, and then seek to withdraw.

[ 03-05-2003, 02:04 AM: Message edited by: Underdog ]

[ 04-04-2003, 09:19 PM: Message edited by: Frank Booth ]

Comment