Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

honerable psych medical discharge from navy, is there any way i can be a cop?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• honerable psych medical discharge from navy, is there any way i can be a cop?

in 2000 i was honerably discharged (medical: major depressive disorder) from the USNAVY and i was currious if that type of discharge would prevent me from being a police officer? the service connection was 30%, but i have been in therapy for the past 2 years and have worked through most of those problems. Furthermore, i was a petty officer in the US NAVY and had a clean record while i was in.

Magic 8 Ball Say, 'Outlook Not Good'

If you ask five people this question, you will get ten different answers, but more then likely, this would be an issue for a hiring dept. Depression is a serious issue, and while everyone is susceptible to situational depression (normal life stressors, etc.) major depressive disorder is considered very serious.

Here is a brief overview of major depressive disorder according to a depression information web site:

Major depressive disorder is also known as major depression, clinical depression, or unipolar depression. The term unipolar refers to the presence of one pole, or one extreme of mood- depressed mood. This may be compared with bipolar depression which has the two poles of depressed mood and mania (i.e., euphoria, heightened emotion and activity).

Major depressive disorder should be taken very seriously since up to 15% of those with this condition die by suicide.

Anyway, with treatment (meds and therapy) there is good outlook for this disorder, which is good. Lots of great people suffer from depression, and with work, they can make great strides.

I think you should check with a dept. you are interested in, it is better to find out for sure, then to get misc. speculation here.

Best of luck, and thank you for your service.

Comment