Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apple pie question

This is not a joke.

Lately I have been making an apple pie from scratch every other weekend. They are delicious. I use about eight or nine apples, and mix the apple types to get a good flavor. Once you figure out how long to cook them so the apples are soft, MAN! yum tum!

Yesterday I bought a group of apples including 2 'gala' apples. today when I was slicing them up, I tasted one like I always do. It was awful! It had absolutely no taste whatsoever. It was like eating paper. Gross. So I trashed them and used two more granny smith apples.

Anybody ever heard of these things?

PS: I am a good cook, so don't start!

You probably got ahold of some that weren't as fresh as they should have been.

Most of the gala apples I've had tasted like a cross between a red delicious and a golden delicious.

Love them granny smith's shough...
    Optimistic pessimist: Hope for the best, but expect the worst.

Jack

[email protected]

Comment

ROFLMAO....

This isn't helping your "manly" image any.. Do you wear a frilly apron? While you're baking pies is your wife out deer hunting?

What is your recipe for the crust? LOL... We should have a section for on here for the "women" to exchange recipes... hee hee.. and before any one gets MAD, I think it's really great to see men who are able to cook !!
      Have you ever noticed? Anybody going slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac.

Comment

Well, I do believe in surviving....

Actually, I started cooking years ago. People come to our house during the holidays for my food, and especially the pastries. I learned to make EVERYTHING from scratch, and them I mellowed and started using ready made crusts and stuff like that. Crusts are easy though, you just have to experiment to get the right flour to oil to water ratio, and get it thin enough.

I have a great potato candy recipe.

[ 02-17-2002: Message edited by: MikeTx ]

Comment