300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real police work

As a new officer, I hear the term "real police work" thrown around quite a lot. I'm curious to see what various officers' and civilians' definition is of that term. What's yours? Do you include things like community-oriented policing goals, taking crash reports, et cetera, et cetera?
    "The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, can not and will not ever harm the sheep." -Lt. Col. Dave Grossman

Ask 100 people, and you'll probably get 100 different opinions.

For me, real police work starts with responding to 911 calls.
    Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment

Real police work, that's a laugh. Is the NYPD officer that works a high crime area more of a cop because he works more homicides than the north dakota state trooper who spends 95% of his time writing traffic citations?

I personally think anything that falls within the boundries of responsibility for an officer falls into real police work, from working homicides to showing a bunch of kids how your light bar works, there's no difference for me especially now days when community policing is the buzz word of the day.
      Illegitimi non carborundum - Don't let the bastards grind you down.

Comment

Originally posted by Caspertoo
        Is the NYPD officer that works a high crime area more of a cop because he works more homicides than the north dakota state trooper who spends 95% of his time writing traffic citations?
        Yes.

Comment

ACK!!!

The gap between rural police and city police widens a little bit more

Comment

ACK!!!The gap between rural police and city police widens a little bit more
            Though unsure if Delta was serious, it's not surprising. Many officers that chose to work in the "big city" think that all others are not "real cops".