300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Badge Question

Hey everyone! I stumbled across your board recently and have found it to be informative and very interesting. I have a question regarding badges I was hoping I could get some insight on.

First of all, I am a Youth Corrections Officer at the state level in Arizona. Though we were sworn into office by a judge, we are not considered sworn peace officers like some other CO's in different states. Our status than is just "State Officer".

I noticed a link to www.officerstore.com from this site, and saw you could make custom badges. Some of the Officers in our department do have normal silver badges, but most of us just have a plastic ID card. The ones that have badges are no higher ranked than us, but only get them because they are on security detail, as opposed to line staff. We are all entitled to badges, but because the state is cheap, only some have gotten some so far.

I was wondering if it would be okay legally for me to customize a badge for myself. It would simply say on it "Officer" "State of Arizona". I would not put anything about my dept. on it--it would be very generic. I would not wear it to work or anything. Also, I am not trying to impersonate a cop here, I am legally an Officer so the info. put on the badge would be correct. Whenever people find out I am a YCO, they ask to see a badge, and it would be nice to be able to show them one. But, the main thing here is that this would not be issued by my dept, so is this okay for me to have?

This would pretty much be the same idea as a Firefighters symbol stickered on the back of a car. Nothign specific, just a honest symbol of what I am proud of doing for a living.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance,

Doug
    Last edited by Doug92004; 12-04-2004, 05:58 AM.

I dunno man, whatever makes you happy I guess. I'm of the opinion that anyone who needs to convince others of their need for a badge has no need for a badge.