300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PA State Capitol Police

Does anyone out there know if a job with the state capitol police is worthwhile, or do they just sit around and write tickets all day? I am looking into applying, I just wanted to know if anyone had some knowledge about the force. Thanks.
    "He who lives without Discipline Dies without Honor"

I have no specific knowledge about the PA Capitol Police, but I do know a few MA State Troopers who are assigned to 1 Ashburton Place, which is right next to the State House.

To a man, they all hate it. They are basically reduced to armed security, and spend most of their time (at least the day & first-half shifts) accomadating political hacks.

You see, the MA State Police haven't been assigned to the State House in many years, since they decided to enforce the parking laws on Beacon Hill. That got a lot of hacks/wives/etc. a lot of parking tickets, so the hacks in the Legislature voted out the state police, and voted in the unarmed, no lawful authority, MDC Park Rangers, even though the State House has no connection with the former MDC.
    Last edited by Delta784; 09-30-2004, 02:20 AM.
    Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment

I can't comment on the PA State Capitol Police, but I know several officers that are Wisconsin Capitol Police. They are charged with protection and security of all state-owned government buildings. Most of their officers are in Madison, but they have a few in Milwaukee and I think some at a couple of other locations in the state. They also recently absorbed the Wisconsin State Fair Park Police, which was only a couple of FT officers and some PTers.

On one hand, they do a lot of building security. The ones I know are always complaining about having to spend a goodly amount of their shifts rattling doors.