Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

White Officer joining the Black Officer Association?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• White Officer joining the Black Officer Association?

Our department has a chapter of the Black Officer's Association. I was thinking about joining the association for the benefits offered to the members and ect.. I am a white officer, but I'm not trying to make a mockery of the issue, nor make a statement in doing so and they will allow non-black officer's to join. I was wondering if anyone else has organizations like this within their agencies?
    Do you know of others who have done this?
    If so...what if anything was the outcome?

I've often wondered about these kinds of associations. If it's not ok to have an association that excludes everyone but white officers, IMO, it's not ok to have one that excludes them either.

Comment

I agree 100% with Niteshift on this one. The last time I checked, we all wore the same badge, and we all bled red.

Retired
      Retired

Comment

In this PC society they won't let you join and you won't be able to do a thing about it. But if roles were reversed and you were a black cop and wanted to join a white police officers association - well, you wouldn't be a cop much longer after you quit due to the million dollar discrimination award you would get.

Comment

While I've never worked for an agency that was large enough to have this type of an orginizaton I did work one area that had a "Latino Peace Officer's Association." The orginization was open to all officers of "chicano" descent from all agencies in the county.

I thought the idea sucked back then and I think it sucks today!

OBTW "Chicano" was THEIR word, not mine.
          6P1 (retired)

Comment

Originally posted by Pintobean:
            I'm not trying to make a mockery of the issue, nor make a statement in doing so