300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's your policy?

I'm a county officer and was shot while on duty about 6 months ago. Since then i've been living off of workers comp and working part-time in administration (per dr's orders). Soon, w.c. will "rate" me which means I will no longer get a weekly check from them. My present total income only equals about 50% of my income prior to getting shot! I'm curious how other departments handle situations like this.

I've been a cop for over 11 years and i'd hate to think my department doesn't "take care of their own," but it's starting to seem that way. Any information or suggestions is appreciated!

James (beenshot)

Sounds like you're being treated like an averegae hourly employee insteda of a law enforcment officer and changes may be needed in your state laws that allow this to happen.

You should be collecting full pay during recovery time and worker's comp shopuld not be an issue. Your department should still be handing you a paycheck as if you were on duty until you can return and if it's ruled you cannot you shoudl be given a retirement and be allowed to then work at whatever you choose as long as it's not law enforcment.

I take it you are in an area that is either not represented by a union or by one that is weak in these matters

Comment