300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for LEOs to participate research survey

Hello, I'm a graduate student in a criminal justice program and I'm preparing a research paper on the use of force continuum. I'm looking for law enforcement officers to participate in a self-reported survey on the topic of deadly force. I believe this topic is especially important given today's tense socioeconomic and political climate and media scrutiny of police officers. If you would like to participate, please contact me via private message. You can remain anonymous. The survey should take no longer than 10-15 minutes.

Thank you for any help.
    Last edited by NicholasNJ; 08-19-2015, 12:08 AM.

You lost everyone at criminal justice major....

Comment

Nice first post. Why not come right out and ask us about how we like to "shoot perps"?
      Getting shot hurts! Don't under estimate the power of live ammo. A .22LR can kill you! I personally feel that it's best to avoid being shot by any caliber. Your vest may stop the bullet, but you'll still get a nice bruise or other injury to remember the experience.

Comment

Originally posted by tj05 View Post
        You lost everyone at criminal justice major....
        You got past hello?

Comment

But what about agencies that don't have a use of force continuum?
          semper destravit

Comment

Continuum is no longer a thing in most modern agencies.

Using the appropriate and reasonable level of force to overcome the resistance of the person is the new hotness.
            Last edited by Sierra259; 08-19-2015, 12:26 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Sierra259 View Post

Using the appropriate level of force to overcome the resistance of the person is the new hotness.
              Yep. Even FLETC has done away with the continuum and gone to the "reasonable" test. It's pretty simple, was the use of force reasonable based on the totality of the circumstances.

Continuum=old and busted