Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kentucky Newspaper Retracts "Major Error" in Police Story

KENTUCKY NEWSPAPER RETRACTS ‘MAJOR ERROR’ IN POLICE STORY

I was a journalist, many years ago. Back then, a quote like that would have hit a wall at the copy desk, with editors screaming "WTF???" and calling the sheriff to confirm he really said that.

Originally posted by Seventy2002 View Post

I was a journalist, many years ago. Back then, a quote like that would have hit a wall at the copy desk, with editors screaming "WTF???" and calling the sheriff to confirm he really said that.

Here Here.

Comment

Not surprised. Our local "journalists" can't even be bothered to use spell check. And I think the news copy editor is a high school freshman who works on stories for extra credit as he/she has time.

Comment

-30- used to mean something...
        Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by Seventy2002 View Post

It was copy editors who did this. That makes it even worse.

This isn't the first time that people have screwed around and did stupid things like this trying to have some warped "fun," it ended up in the paper, and they ended up out the door ... as they damn well should have. In-freaking-excusable. You don't play in these situations. You take it seriously.

The problem is that nobody seems to take anything seriously anymore.

Comment

That's cause everyone is a journalist today. harry the plumber and dave the electrician ....gimmie a break..

Comment

I heard a good line in a Humphrey Bogart movie about a newspaper company a few days ago. A guys says "a reporter is any eyewitness, a journalist is a hero". I think they all eager to be heroes these days.

Comment

Originally posted by btfp View Post
                That's cause everyone is a journalist today. harry the plumber and dave the electrician ....gimmie a break..