Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mmpi-2 & pf16

I am just ranting at this point.

I recently took the MMPI2 and the PF16 tests as the final stage in the hiring process for a department I am trying to become a member of. I believe I defeated myself by looking too far into the questions. I answered truthfully, but feel the questions are very open ended and should/could not be answered by a true or false. Now these opinions are mainly related to the MMPI2.

The PF 16 was much more clear and easily answered to who I am. The psychologist also had me fill out a personal history packet that he wanted to go over. Maybe I am being a "pre-Madonna" of sorts, but I was not interviewed by the Dr. and was informed my results will be mailed to the department in a few weeks. Seems like my experience is a little odd with this, but then again I am new to Police Officer hiring process. The last thing that struck me as weird was once I was finished with the tests I was instructed to slide it under his office door and show myself out...

Here is some Non-Leo advice for the Leo hopeful.

1. Do not look up the tests online. I didn't, but after taking the tests I know I would have read into the questions more so and defeated myself even more if I had.

2. Do not spend too much time on the questions. The more you sit there and think about it the more you will confuse your self.

3. Answer honestly. Do not answer for what you think they want because I guarantee that you will not be able find the perceived right answer on most of the questions. Thus, if you try to beat the system you will beat yourself.

4. Answer instinctually. Typically what comes to you first is what you should put down. You want to be hired for who you are. If for some reason you trick the system and pass then that can put you and others in danger in the long run. These tests are there for a reason. They need to know you will not snap in a stressful situation.