300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ichat error

So it turns out I've been walking around with a felony on my record for the past 25 years. Back in 1989, when I was 18, I got into a fight at the beach. One thing lead to another and I ended up with getting charged with a misdemeanor and paying a $300 fine.

I never really thought much about it again until recently. A couple of months ago I got a call from the Superintendent of our local school system saying that I wouldn't be allowed to go on a field trip as a chaperon because of a felony on my record.

I contacted the court and they apologized and got it fixed, but I still missed the field trip and my kids were still embarrased in front of thier teachers and friends by the whole thing. I tried to buy a gun a few years ago and the Sheriffs Office said I couldn't get a permit because I failed the background check. They wouldn't tell me why, but I'm guessing this is it.

I wonder where I'd be right now if this mistake hadn't happened? I wonder what jobs I didn't get because of this?

The system sucks. That is all.

Your guess is as good as ours
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

I tried to buy a gun a few years ago and the Sheriffs Office said I couldn't get a permit because I failed the background check.
      ...and you didn't follow up?

With a felony you can't vote either.

Mistakes happen, but it sounds to me like you didn't care enough about your own life to make sure it was straight to begin with.