300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Riots

For all LEOs who have been in riots what was the first hand action like, and in the heat of the moment was it fun to crack heads with a baton?
    Philly's finest
    No Longer Active
    Last edited by Philly's finest; 08-24-2003, 04:19 PM.

um....I can't really think of anyone saying that a riot is fun, really. The SCIC (State Corrections Institute at Camp Hill) Prison Riot was one of my first major calls as a LEO. It was in 10/89 and I graduated the academy in 8/89. I was visiting my cousin, who was a PSP helo pilot stationed at the Middletown airport when it happened, so I got to arrive "in style"...
    I spent the next three days there, outside of the prison fence taking the numbers of the prisoners that came over to my little area and sat, not wanting to have anything to do with the violence that was going on. I saw some really horrific things during the four hours that I spent in the helo hovering over the main areas of rioting.
    To this day, I do not know how anyone was not killed during that incident. It was either a miracle, or....well, no comment.

My main thought on arrival was OMG! It just started to get bigger and bigger. We would get things calmed down and then it would flare up and the inmates would set something else on fire. The media circus was incredible....CNN and all major networks, plus the ACLU complaining that we weren't housing the poor prisoners properly....they didn't mind that the jerks had just burned down their own buildings to sleep in They didn't like my suggestion that we send them (the ACLU) in to put them back in their cells...

Comment

Yes, I worked two riots in Los Angeles, and I can't imagine you actually asking if it was "fun" to crack someones head with a baton? Are you really serious with that question? If you are, I hope you are not in law enforcment!
      Retired

Comment