Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is the grass greener...

Hey all,
    Been doing a lot of thinking the last few months. I dont really enjoy what I do anymore. I have been a police officer now for 12 years. I am tired of a lot of things about the job and have noticed the other day how increasingly miserable I was.

I dont want to sound whiny but several things have been wearing on me and have me thinking life would be better just to leave this job behind me. A lot of the reasons are personal but it comes down to the fact I just dont think its worth it.

I kind of feel stuck though. The job market is horrible. Any job I would get (if I were lucky enough to land one) wouldnt be the salary or benefits I currently have. I look at my pregnant wife and two year old and know I need to continue to support them at all cost. They are the number one priority in my life. Uprooting and selling our house and moving somewhere and to a smaller house isnt really even much of an option with the local real estate market.

I wonder if the grass is greener on the other side? Am I just in a funk, a part of my career that drags that I will come out of later and enjoy what I am doing again. I used to really look forward to going to work. I would hate to make a drastic change in my life to find out it was a mistake. Its not really a fair question to pose to all of you, I guess I just want some feedback.

Just FYI
    I still go to work each day and do everything I can tactically and safely. I remain active and aggresive in my enforcement, its all I have ever known and the only kind of officer I will ever be.
    Retired 02/01/13