Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Police Officer Retiring...

Hi All,

I’m new to this site, but I just wanted to say hello. I am studying Criminal Justice in college and on my first year in.

I come from a long line of police officers. My Great Grandfather, Grandfather, Father, Uncle.. I swear it is in our blood. I think, from what I have seen, many officers come from family’s of law enforcement people.

I know I am new here, but I wanted to share an article that I am very proud of and I think would be respected by many of you.

My father retired on April 1st on his 40th anniversary with the town he came to love and protect. He was with a department prior to the one he retired with, that would give him a total of 42 years serving the people of Maine.

Seems like, from his retirement, I have learned that people have a love/hate relationship with police officers. Not that I am surprised, where growing up through my life I have seen a lot of back lash against him and others because they are police officers. I just thought, here is a guy that risked his life day after day for these people and on the day he retires, the people he would give his life for are talking crap about him.

So I came here and share his retirement with people that live the life and would understand what he did day in and day out. This is a pretty big and well known website/forum so perhaps a few of you may even know him.

Here is the article. I apologize upfront if I put this in the wrong section.

American Journal, Gorham Maine

Portland, Maine Press Herald

I have been retired for nineteen years. To be truthful, it has been a blast. What I had as a cop I left behind. With the exception of fond memories over my 30 year career, I have not dwelled on the past.