Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attending National LE Week In DC - Current LE Advice

Hey All,

I am a Police Officer from Washington State and our Honor Guard team will be attending the National LE Week in Washington D.C. this year (May 12th -16th). This will be my first visit to the East Coast and can't wait.

I am looking for any advice/insight from current east coast officer's on the event, places to eat, off duty carry protocol, etc. We will be staying in Arlington and riding the Metro to the various event's in DC.

So far on my must see list are a Nationals game, visit the WW 2, American Indian, and Holocaust museums, and see the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier.

I have heard that LE don't pay to ride the Metrorail or to visit museums? Is this true or a rumor??

I have heard things are radically different here in the Left Coast vs. the East Coast in regards to how LE are treated. Hoping someone can help me separate truth from fiction.

Thanks all...

It's been awhile since I was in DC but I believe (and the DC folks will correct me if Im wrong) but most of the museums are free...I'd also check out the air and space museum....also get down to old town Alexandria...you can catch the metro there too....if you have time the White House tour is pretty nice also....can't help you on places to eat it's been 16 years since I was there and couldn't tell you where to eat anymore

Comment

Go to Georgetown and mingle with the sorority girls.
      Being a good street cop is like coming to work in a wet suit and peeing in your pants. It's a nice warm feeling, but you're the only one who knows anything has happened.

Comment

When you get to the Smithsonian, show the guard at bag check your badge and tell them you are carrying and they will direct you where you sign in the armed LEO book. The food at the museum is over priced.