300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Light bar....part 2..

So a few weeks ago I posted regarding clearing up the lenses on my old school Whelen 500 series strobe light bar. I got the lenses cleaned up pretty good and made a great improvement. But I noticed the reflectors were pretty dull/dirty. I wiped them off the best I could but still pretty dull. Is it possible to remove the lights/reflectors and paint them with a chrome spray paint? Or is there another (cheap) way to make the lights brighter? The light bar is 6 or so years old and I'm a rookie so no chance getting anything via the department.

Thanks!

B.
    2010 Graduate of Reinhardt University Police Academy
    Class 10-004

I wouldn't advise it...probably wouldn't be any better and probably make it worse. Don't know what your budget is, but you can get new strobe tubes and they come with the new reflector part (they come as a single unit). Downside is that replacements run about $50 - $75 last I checked. Just to replace the four corner units would cost you a couple hundred. New lens kits are also available for around $125 - $150, but won't help with reflector problems.

Comment

Yeah I've just been searching for tubes/reflectors.. bout $65 or so.. found some for $20-40 on ebay.
      Class 10-004

Comment

Legal liability: any paint or alteration that you think increases safety could make it worse.
        Last edited by ryker; 03-29-2012, 08:48 AM.
        Any views or opinions presented by this prenomen are solely those of a burlesque author and do not necessarily represent those of a LEA or caementum couturier.

nom de plume

This is the internet- take all information with a grain of salt. Such could be valid and true or could be typed just for playing devils advocate.

Comment

Would a little brasso work?