300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whats the point??

I am getting ready to graduate from college with a B.S. in Administration Of Justice in May. I had originally planned to work for a local police department, state police or probation officer. Basically anything I could get I would take since jobs are hard to come by these days. A majority of these types of jobs require the applicant to take the civil service test. I am a college graduate, why should I have to take a test with some average person who does not have a degree. There is so much politics involed in various police agencies from the local level all the way up to the federal level. And don't tell me that politics is involed in just about all career fields, b/c to some extent it is, but in the criminal justice system it is ridiculous. The civil service test will not be given for about another year in my state and by then, there will be so many people taking the test and competing for the same jobs that chances of me landing a job are slim to none. You don't need a college degree to do this type of work. What was I thinking when I chose this as a major? How can anybody know what they want to do when going to college? Well at least I have a college degree and nobody can take that away from me but for now, I am off to bigger and better things than waiting around for a highly politicized police department to hire me. Besides, most of these departments pay so little considering I would be putting my life on the line for the public, that it is not worth it. This post was not meant to offend anyone, just giving my opinion. Being a cop is a very honorable job and I respect those who do it day in an day out to protect me. Guess I am just venting b/c graduation is a few days away and I finally find out this is not what I want to do with the rest of my life. Better sooner than latter. However, I plan on continuing my education in a fild that I am certain I will like b/c of classes I h