300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Neighborhood Watch Programs

My chief had the bright idea to assign me the task of helping neighborhoods in our city start neighborhood watch programs since I am a new Instructor. I have found some information on the internet, but I was wondering if any of you are familiar with these programs and where I can get information or possibly even lesson plans on these programs. I look forward to doing it, but I have never been involved so i don't know much about it. I want to be able to do a good job on this assignment. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
    B.Perkins
    Protect yourself and your family in all legal situations!

I would strongly suggest contacting these folks.

They provide training in Community Oriented Policing, Neighborhood Watch, etc.

They are a pretty good resource for information and training.

Good luck
    Optimistic pessimist: Hope for the best, but expect the worst.

Jack

[email protected]

Comment

try contacting the National Crime Prevention Council http://www.ncpc.org/neigh.htm

or try contacting other agencies in your area or region that have neighborhood watch groups and pick their brains a little.
      I'll post, You argue.

Comment

Every neighborhood watch program we started ended up a dismal failure. The interest from the community was always high at the beginning, and then slowly faded to nothing.

Retired
        Retired

Comment

You could always try staging a robbery every few weeks to keep interest high

Comment

That's what happens around here. Most of the time attendence is low until someone gets murdered then it jumps but it's to late. It depends what part of the city you are in also. Some parts it works great.
            Stay safe and watch your back. Survived Katrina. Now a Official member of the Chocolate City Police.

Comment

Retired hit the nail on the head, I have never seen it happen any other way.

Retired check your pm's please.

Comment