Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 18th offense drunk driver sent back to prison

http://www.madison.com/tct/mad/latest/318921

Sent back to prison after his parole was revoked. He could have been arrested for his 19th offense if law enforcement had pushed the issue.

My question is: Is it like this all over the country or is this just a Wisconsin thing? Here in Wisconsin, first offense drunk driving is not even a crime. It's a forfeiture. You don't reach felony status until 5th offense. Quite regularly you hear about people receiving their 7th or 8th offense drunk driving arrests.

The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel has been doing a special series on the drinking culture in Wisconsin called Wasted in Wisconsin. They have personal stories about drunk driving deaths in every county in Wisconsin. You can read about it here:

http://www.jsonline.com/news/30565984.html
    "I assume you all have guns and crack."

I'm a full-time DUI Enforcement officer in the "Third Drunkest City in the Nation." You're preaching to the choir, my friend (although it IS a criminal offense on the first arrest here).
    MAC

Comment

This is funny during my 2nd week on FTO we stopped a guy for speeding. Turned out we were 10-15,10-19, with a 10-56. I started counting this guys record and wouldn't you believe, 14th DWI. Needless to say it was a 1st degree.

Comment

The chronics there is no way to stop them if they are out of jail. If they keep drinking they will keep driving while drunk if that is what they have decided to do.

I'm an alcoholic and drug addict who has not taken a drink since 11/12/1991 but before that time I drove drunk at least 5 days a week, maybe 6 or 7.

Access to vehicles is unlimited, as access to alcohol.

Even LEO are not immune from the disease of alcoholism and to a degree driving under the influence.

If I drank today I am quite sure I would still be driving drunk.