300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exclusionary Rule and Execution of Searches

I'm a CJ student doing a research paper on the exclusionary rule and how or if it makes a difference in the way a police officer excutes a search. If any one would like to comment I would love to hear his/her opinion on the exclusionary rule.

I believe it does make a difference. However, I believe there is something of more relevance to the decision process of whether to seize/search outside the confines of what is legal: 42 USC 1983. It would be bad to loose one's evidence. It would be much worse to incur a civil liability; job loss; or a stint in prison.

Comment

Do your own homework jr...
      sigpic
      Don't make me gassy.
      You wouldn't LIKE me when I'm gassy...

If you're offended by something that I've said...it was just your turn.

Comment

I am doing my own homework. This is a research paper and part of my research is to find out what police officers think about the impact the exclusionary rule has on the way a search is conducted.

Thanks for you imput!

Comment

Thank you for you help. It has been hard to find doucmentation on the net about police opinion.

Comment

Originally posted by ComicGuy View Post
            Do your own homework jr...
            You'll have to excuse certain forum members and their posts as they are immature at times.

Also ComicGuy is corrections officer(former) and his work didn't usually involve things like the exclusionary rule.

The exclusionary rule can be a double edged sword. It keeps police officers and prosecutes honest in that they won't violate the law or the constitution when collecting evidence. But it can also throw out perfectly good evidence that proves someone is mass murder but if it was obtained without a warrant, for instance, it would be thrown out of court and probably setting a dangerous person free on what is sometimes a technicality and not necessarily misconduct.