300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• your first?

what was your first call? to make this more open anyone can answer who is LEO, been on a ride along, an explorer, or firefighter or EMT professional.

mine is when i was an volunteer firefighter. it was my first day on the engine and we weren't getting called to anything. everyone started to say i was a "white cloud" (had to explain but basically when i am on the engine no good calls come in). anyways it was about 1630 and we were trying to decided what to eat. then those tones rung out and my adrenaline shot through the roof. the call was a T/C rollover with injuries. we get geared up and go code 3. i am excited and nervous not knowing what to expect. we roll up on scene and there is total mayhem. we were one of the first engines on scene. we see a car that has barbed wire wrapped around the front of it. clothes and other debris everywhere. couple of people in the car and a couple on ground. i was kind of taken back by everything. i went to grab the medical bag and i hear someone scream "i killed my sister, i killed my sister" we run over and there is a 4 year old face down on the pavement with brain matter exposed. we tried everything but she was DOA. we ended up air lifting 3 others to trauma centers with serious injuries. i will never forget this call for the rest of my life. what makes it even more tragic is that it could have been prevented. the little girl was sitting on her sisters lap in the car unrestrained.

so anyways no matter what your first call was, share it with us. cant remember your first, then what is your most memorable one?
    This is my Glock, there are many like it, but this one is mine

"Anything is possible to he who dares" A.G. Spalding