Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marrying a female officer

Hey everyone,

I've shared many times here, but just a quick reminder, I wanted to be a cop, got into detentions with a local PD, realized it wasn't for me. Went on to pursue a career in the electric field, but I did not feel complete. I went back to the security field and found something I love in the executive protection industry.
    im also a vet, still in the reserves and recently back from deployment in the middle east.

NOW... My long term girlfriend became a deputy and I don't have to tell y'all what that means, you know the sacrifice. I want to marry her, we've discussed it a few times but I haven't popped the question after 8 years together (wanted to get established first)

I don't feel like I would be the average civilian husband because I have lived through my own hell but I'm a work in progress. She tells me her stories sometimes and i feel like we have a good understanding of one another.

I guess the reason for me posting this is to try to find other people like myself who are married or in a relationship with female cops since it is a very unique situation. What are obstacles that I may have to prepare for? What do you do to keep a strong bond even when both careers take so much of your time.
    im.not looking for relationship advise, just a few pointers on what to expect.

Thanks all

Former active duty infantry Marine and deputy, I couldn’t do it.

Expect to be cheated on,.......

Comment

• ArmyVet
      ArmyVet commented
      Editing a comment
      That was uncalled for.

Whoa, that was unexpected.

Comment

• Levithane
      Levithane commented
      Editing a comment
      He's just being honest with you. Infidelity is pretty prominent in the gov't sector, not gonna get into specifics but it happens quite frequently.