300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liars

My younger brother lies constantly and it drives me crazy. He lies about the most unimportant little things, things that aren't worth lying about.

Since I was a freshman in high school and my mom started working full-time, it's been my unsaid responsibility to take take of my little brother while shes at work. As a result of this, I tend to act much more like his mother than his sister, making sure he eats lunch and cleans up after himself.

I catch him atleast three times a day in a lie. I hate liars and it makes me sad to see how dishonest my own little bother is becoming. He's only 13 years old, I can't imagine how bad it'll get in a couple of years when he's a full-blown teenager. Last year, he stole $50 from my older brother so he could buy a video game, I don't think you can get anymore dishonest than that.

I know it's my parents responsibility to raise my younger brother but as his sister, I'm very concerned about how he's acting. I feel as though I failed as an older sister in teaching him right from wrong. I don't what what can be said or done to change his behavior and stop his lying. Any advice you have for me on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Boy, you've got a hard job there! I think you need to talk to your parents, not so much as to rat out your brother, but he needs to be taught that what he's doing is wrong-I'm sure he knows already, he's old enough, and they need to know what he's doing when they're not there.

I lied when I was little, until I thought just saying I was sorry would work-my parents caught on to that, then I had to start the time-out and punishments-it did not take long at all for me to stop that bad habit!

Best of luck-you are in for a time since he's only 13!

Comment